From Tar Valon Library
Jump to: navigation, search

Author: Atarah al'Norahn


Moreina was one of the nations of the Free Era. It was located in the southeastern part of the Westlands. To the north was Talmour, with the Spine of the World to the east, the Sea of Storms to the south, Fergansea to the west and Esandara to the northwest. Eventually, this area of land became what is now Tear and the southern part of Haddon Mirk.

By FY 943, Guaire Amalasan had conquered Moreina. Only the Stone of Tear in Moreina resisted, and then only because thirty Aes Sedai were within when the rest of the nation fell.

By FY 963, Moreina had fallen to Artur Hawkwing. It was the only nation not to be taken by conquest; the High Governor of the Stone of Tear declared for Hawkwing, and dissident nobles rebelling pretty much gave him the rest of Moreina.

According to Mat's memories, Moreina and Fergansea once went to war against each other.

(References: The World of Robert Jordan's "The Wheel of Time"; Crossroads of Twilight, Chapter 1)